Lady sitting on a clock

Things are taking a little longer than usual, please bear with us...

Combermere Abbey Estate

About Combermere Abbey Estate

Combermere Abbey began as a Cistercian monastery in 1133. Well supported, its lands and holdings reached an impressive 22,000 acres at its peak, the extent of which we can see in early maps. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries by Henry VIII in 1536, the Abbey and lands were gifted to Sir George Cotton. He built a Tudor manor house incorporating the Abbots Hall and his descendants owned the estate until 1919. Centuries of history can be seen in the magnificent architecture of Combermere Abbey. Between 1814 and 1820, the house was remodelled in the popular Gothic style by the 1st Viscount Combermere from the grand ballroom to the Jacobean style stable block, the clock tower to the Stone Lodge, there is much to behold. Two major restoration programmes have taken place in more recent years. The second of these, in 1992, was started to restore all the listed buildings on the estate as well as the main house. This 25-year plan has included the complete renovation of the North Wing of the house, now even more stunning than it was back in 1820! The estate welcomes guests to stay in our 10 self catering holiday cottages or the North Wing Boutique B&B, with weddings and events taking place in our Glasshouse and Walled Gardens.

Booking Policy

Combermere Abbey Estate has added no additional booking terms.

Cancellation Policy

Custom Policy

Sorry - refunds not available.